Home » Karting magazine Awards 2016 » International Driver of the Year 2016
International Driver of the Year 2016

International Driver of the Year 2016

International Driver of the Year 2016 Results

This award was judged by a panel.

Winner – Pedro Hiltbrand

He’s won two World titles in the KZ2 and OK classes along with the CIK-FIA European Championship in the OK class. When you add his 3rd place in the WSK Super Master Series to this it’s hard to argue why the 20 year old Factory CRG driver shouldn’t have won this Award. He becomes the first winner in history of this Award!


Highly Commended – Paolo De Conto

Paolo has had a fantastic year winning the CIk-FIA KZ World Championship and KZ2 Supernationals title. When it comes to the European and WSK titles he’s been pretty consistent, but he won two of the most coveted titles in World karting and that doesn’t happen very often!


Highly Commended – Victor Martins

Victor has been a name constantly mentioned by many in karting this year as his impressive progress eventually led him to take the CIK-FIA Junior World Championship crown in November. Before that he had finished 3rd in the European Championship and 2nd in the X30 Challenge Europa and impressed at the IAME International Final. Pound for pound he’s one of the quickest in the World!


Highly Commended – Noah Watt

If this Award was judged on results Noah Watt would have won it comfortably. He pulled in a total of 321 likes to his page which is almost 200 more than any other driver. I guess in some ways it’s no surprise, aged just 14 the Baby Race driver finished 2nd in all the major European OKJ Championships this year making a huge improvement on his 2015 results. His support was certainly something that deserved to be recognised.


Editor’s Special Mention – Matteo Vigano

This year we decided to ass in the International Driver of the Year category to the Awards after the response my ‘Top 5 European Drivers in 2015’ article got. It is the most read article on the website this year so it was a no brainer to add a category in that catered for drivers all over the World. If choosing a shortlist wasn’t hard enough imagine how tough it was to pick a winner? The response was better than I expected with the shortlist page receiving 1600 likes in total!

My special mention is the 23 year old Super Shifter driver, Matteo Vigano. He won two major titles this year which include the IAME International Final and X30 Challenge Europa. In the KZ2 class Matteo has also impressed finishing 3rd in the CIK-FIA european Championship and 5th in the KZ2 International Supercup. He could be the man to take the fight to the likes of Pedro Hiltbrand next year.



2016 Shortlist

In alphabetical order 

Anthony Abbasse

Fabian Federer

Karol Basz

Kevin Ludi

Marco Ardigo

Matteo Vigano

Noah Watt

Paolo De Conto

Pedro Hiltbrand

Victor Martins