Category Archives: Shenington Kart Racing Club

Shenington Kart Racing Club Awards 2013

7-SheningtonAwards-Jessica Brickley (Lady Driver of the Year)The 2013 awards were presented at the Stratford Manor Hotel on 4th January 2014 with over 150 guests in attendance. Winner of the 2013 KGP Grand Finals, vice-champion in Super One, Bobby Game was the Guest of Honour to hand over the trophies to the deserving drivers.

The Winner of the Lady Driver of the Year category was Jessica Brickley, while Matt Davies won Driver of the Year.

Class Winners were: Joe Turney (IAME Cadet), Matthew Hopcraft (Honda Cadet), Angus Fender (Comer Cadet), Matt Davies (Junior TKM), Kieran Wragg (MiniMax), Will Shaw (Junior Max), James Ogden (TKM Extreme), Colin Morris (TKM Clubman), Harrison Wignall (Rotax Max), Ross Allen (250 National).

Shenington Kart Racing Club 2013 Race Review

Max_HarrisonWignallShenington has enjoyed a bumper year with average entries not far short of 200 and a record entry of 275 at the September meeting.  Big changes are afoot for 2014 with the switch to the TAG-Heuer and Apex Timing System offering much enhanced live timing with sectors, and instant results service to the web. Also in the pipeline are bigger offices for the Clerks and additional showers.  

The circuit hosted two rounds of the Super One Series and an Easykart round as well as having the Gearbox O Plate and a TKM Interclub round at the SuperPrix.  This event every June is also the Shenington Historic Revival meeting where drivers from the sixties onwards gather and see demonstrations of original and restored vintage and historic karts.  It’s always a superb three day meeting with a pig roast, bar and music on the Saturday evening, not to be missed.  

The Comer Cadet grids held up well, thanks in part to support from Zip, where Angus Fender got off to a good start in February after the January meeting was cancelled due to snow and replaced at Easter.  Then Caden McQueen’s challenge gathered momentum, he missed on the title from Fender by only 3 points.  

The new IAME Cadet class had Joe Turney off to a winning start, and he held that lead all the way to the club title with prizes coming from Mills Engineering. Fender had a busy year contesting this as well for the vice-champion position. They often raced together with Honda Cadet, loyally supported by top seed Matthew Hopcraft for the overall win.  The podium places were keenly contested by Zak Bowen, Thomas Bennett and Keaton Samra.

A massive 47 drivers contested Junior TKM, where Matt Davies just had the upper hand over Tom Owen and Arran Mills.  Davies also enjoyed massive success with his Number 1, and 0 plates.  Kieran Wragg had done enough in MiniMax to not need to compete in the last round, beating Luc Oliver by 19 points. Junior Max was big and fiercely contested between new champion Will Shaw and Lewis Malin.

The Rotax Max class varied in size over the year but Harrison Wignall was a regular winner and beat Connor Gibbs to the title by 23 points.  Gibbs tied on points with Michael Pugh but the tie break was in his favour. James Ogden cantered to the TKM Extreme championship with four wins, over his brother Luke.  

The economy TKM Clubman continues to grow with 37 unique drivers during the year, and grids normally around 20.  Colin Morris kept his head to notch up three wins over a very consistent but winless Mark Waring. Kyle Morby’s win at the last round just pipped David Brickley for third, whilst Brickley’s wife Jessica also improved enormously for 7th.  

KZ2 was poorly supported but a steady band of 250 National drivers kept gearbox well alive.  Ross Allen won every time he entered, and consequently took the title over Alex Burrows.  

The Driver of the Year will be announced at the Awards Evening on 4th January from the nominations of Dan Bury (210 National champion), Bobby Game (KGP Vice champion and world finals champion), James Hassall (S4 champion), Matt Davies and Matthew Hopcraft.