British Historic Kart Club – Teesside Autodrome


What was intended to be the second round of the 2011 RetroRacer Championship at a sun-blessed Teesside Autodrome turned into a series of non-championship demonstration races for the 45-entrants present, many of whom had travelled hundreds of miles to Bob Pope’s sprawling North East venue.

Despite the late call to make the event non championship the demonstration ‘races’ were still hotly contested and gave Class I newcomer Andy Young a chance to give his Barlotti/Hewland an airing while former Karting World Cup winner Drew Liddle and his fellow ex-racer Terry Glendenning were amongst the interested onlookers.

The solid increase in numbers of karts built in the early to mid 1960’s continued with Ronald and Steve Smith in their Fastakarts and Claire Atkinson with her Blow/Montessa amongst the class IV gearbox runners from that period although a few more Class I entrants from that period are still needed.

Rob Logan made a welcome return to action in his Zip/Yamaha 250, leading the field home from Dave Kirkham’s Barlotti/Yamaha 250 and Paul Liddington’s Zip/Bultaco 250 although had Marc Beeley not destroyed his only piston for his Zip/Montesa 250 on Saturday the result could have been different

In the class one ‘races’ David Smith’s Deavinson/TKM was unbeatable while there were other standout drives from Peter Freeman (Blow/Parilla) and John Wheeler (Barlotti/Komet) in much older machinery while Tony Brinkworth’s efforts in his TKM /Parilla came to naught when he spun trying to avoid Phil Neville’s stranded Zip 981/Parilla.

The next round of the RetroRacer Championship takes place at Llandow on July 3rd/4th.