MSA Night of Champions

WordPress database error: [Table 'kmuk_db.wp_fblb' doesn't exist]
SELECT * FROM wp_fblb WHERE id = 1


The Motor Sports Association (MSA) crowned the 2012 British motor sport champions at its prestigious Night of Champions ceremony at the Royal Automobile Club in London on Saturday 19th January.

Broadcaster Steve Rider acted as Master of Ceremonies, while MSA Chairman Alan Gow and David Brabham, the former F1 driver and Le Mans 24 Hours winner, presented the trophies.

Special awards were also presented by JLT Specialty COO Warren Downey, Renault UK Communications Director Jeremy Townsend, Racing Steps Foundation’s Derek Walters, Lord Rooker, and MSA Chief Executive Colin Hilton.

MSA Chief Executive, Colin Hilton, said: “The Night of Champions is our opportunity to honour those who excelled in their chosen motor sport disciplines last year, and we also pay tribute to the clubs, marshals and others who do so much for our sport at every level. Every year it is heartening to see the breadth and depth of British motor sport and remind ourselves why this is one area in which we genuinely lead the rest of the world.”

The karting honours went to:

  • MSA British Cadet Kart Championship: Dean MacDonald, from Kelty in Fife.
  • MSA British Junior Kart Championship & Mark W Hines Memorial Trophy: Alex Gill, from Doncaster in South Yorkshire.
  • MSA British Short Circuit Kart Championship: Ben Barnicoat, from Chesterfield in Derbyshire.
  • MSA British Long Circuit Kart Championship: Paul Platt, from Warrington in Cheshire.
  • JLT MSA Club of the Year: Shenington Kart Racing Club

The following former kart racers also received awards: British Formula 3 International Series: Jack Harvey, from Bassingham in Lincolnshire.

BWRDC Lord Wakefield Trophy: Susie Wolff (formerly Stoddart), from Oban in Scotland