Shenington Kart Racing Report Round 10

WordPress database error: [Table 'kmuk_db.wp_fblb' doesn't exist]
SELECT * FROM wp_fblb WHERE id = 1

Shenington Kart Racing Report Round 9, 15 October 2017

Unseasonably warm weather heartened everyone for a great day’s racing for Round 10 of the club championship with around 140 entries.  It was a teeny bit damp at the start but the sun came out for the afternoon’s finals. 


The always well supported Cadet classes had Lorenzo Kordal swiftly demoted from the Honda Cadet lead to fifth as Daniel Guinchard led.  Much trading of all the top five places ensued with Kean Berta briefly leading and in the end the order was Guinchard, Berta, Kordal, Connor Clifford and Roman Bilinksi.  The IAME 2-stroke Cadet class resulted in a good fight between Coskun Irfan and William Macintyre as they managed to push each other clear of Leo Robinson and Maximus Hall.  But Robinson cut across Hall’s kart firing him into the barriers at the start line which would result in a later exclusion.  Hall managed to extract himself to finish 15th.  That elevated Bradley Beavers to third holding off Ella Stevens and Joe Sheppy.  At the front Irfan and Macintyre swapped twice on the last couple of laps, Irfan getting the winning position at the last corner. 


The 210 Challenge were a visiting championship having their last round of the season and Luke Whitehead stormed off in the lead ahead of Dan Bury.  Tom Whyte would claim the national title as he leapfrogged Paul Fowler then took Bury for second.  Tony Bury staggered around nursing a problem a pitstop did not cure, then retired.  Rob Perkins was another late on retirement out of fifth place.


In the Junior TKM James Pashley was sporting his new number 2 as the National vice-champion, and set off in the lead.  That was extended when Zak Taylor was demoted from second to fourth in favour of Dan McKeown and Zak Taylor.  Gradually Oates crept up then passed Pashley for the lead leaving Taylor and McKeown trading fourth ending in Taylor’s favour.  Pashley made a great move to regain the lead into the chicane on the last lap, somewhat to Oates’ annoyance.  The MiniX winner Charlie Typaldo-Cole built on a good start and was soon mixing it amongst the concurrent Junior TKM backmarkers ending 13th overall.  Nearest to him was Bowen Morris-Kent just ahead of Jack Salmon but there were six Junior TKM between first and second.

Alex Rees led the senior TKM Extreme from the start tracked by Joseph Reeves-Smith.   E Plated Harry Moore leapfrogged into third ahead of Josh Sherriff but he was demoted back by Sherriff and had to fight to restore third by the chequer.  Reeves-Smith sliced under Rees at Park Corner to regain the lead and just hold off Rees on the finish line.  In the TKM Clubman economy class Chris Chater managed to stay clear of a big second place battle between Marcus Edmonds, Suk Sandher and Chris Yates.  Yates reached second putting pressure on Chater until Edmunds managed to retrieve the spot, gifting Chater a one second cushion to the finish. 


The KZ UK 125cc gearbox heats had seen a battle between Lee Ward and Tom Longfield, two wins to one in Ward’s favour and pole position.  Although Ward made the best start in the final Longfield struck back on the first lap and led for a few more.  But with a couple to go, Ward found a gap at the first hairpin and in his efforts to take the win Longfield’s attempt in the chicane resulted in a spin and non-finish.  That elevated Luke Child to runner-up.  In the Junior X30 Luke Whitehead took a massive lead from the off, but gradually Zak Bowen closed the gap to give a real challenge at the end.  Jack Williams battled with Tom Nippers and once clear momentarily passed Louie Short for third, but Short retrieved the final podium place by the chequered flag.


Report By Graham Smith

Photography by TSR Productions

Like this article? Then check out all our other race reports here:

All Club Racing reports

Main Race Reports page