World Championships reborn!

WordPress database error: [Table 'kmuk_db.wp_fblb' doesn't exist]
SELECT * FROM wp_fblb WHERE id = 1


The entry list for the 2010 World Championships at Zuera in Spain came out in late August and it seems the move to KF2 has been a good one. There are 125 entries, a number that we haven’t seen since the glory days of Lewis Hamilton and Robert Kubica.

When I first started going to these races in the early 2000s there were over 100 in Formula A every time, and then with all the wrangling over a possible move to four- strokes and the KF engines it dropped like a stone until this year the main qualifying route for the Worlds, the European Championship, failed to attract more than ten entries. Something had to be done and a switch to KF2 was the only real option.

Nyck De Vries has form both in 2010 and at Zuera

Established Super KF drivers have entered, although a lot of them weren’t eligible because they hadn’t raced in
the European Championships. British Champion Mark Litchfield was one of those disappointed. There are also many drivers who have been doing KF2 all year in the European Championships and in the WSK. There are also a number of frontrunning national drivers whose budgets wouldn’t give them a chance in Super KF. As well as the European Series’, drivers are eligible to enter if they have finished in the top 10 of a national KF2 championship in 2009 or 2010.

In what could be the first signs of a thawing of the relations between the factories and the CIK, there are official entries from both Tonykart and Birel.

The Zaragoza track is long and has been Nyck De Vries territory for several years as he won the WSK KF3 series there in 2008 then the European KF3 last year. At the press conference last year people joked that he would make it three titles in a row, and on his form this year it’s a highly possible prospect.

Other Super KF drivers to enter are Ben Hanley, Jordan Chamberlain and Yannick De Brabander. Nicolaj Moller Madsen, Teemu Suninen and Chris Lock head up the KF2 contingent. The race is on 19th September.

Article: Mary-Ann Horley Photos: Chris Walker

• Circuit –
• Event –