Indikart Report 2014

IndiKart Series Round 3, Hooton Park, 9th March 2014

Far better conditions than the previous month, finally: dry conditions!

Class D, Bambino’s, was the first final on track and Paris Laithwaite won the Bluebird race from Aidan Gridndley after Grindley had set the fastest lap of the race. In the Comer class Ted Bradbury led from the front to take the win with Luca Giovanni close behind in 2nd and Sandro Ballesteros finishing in the final podium position in 3rd. Some fantastic racing from the youngest competitors of the day. Next on track was a fine grid of 18 Cadets in Class C. Liam Frendt came through from 3rd on the grid to take a hard fought win finishing only 0.08 secs ahead of Iago Scott in 2nd. Jack Robinson was next to finish in 3rd with Cameron Hallows some way back in 4th. Fastest lap went to Iago Scott with 43.43 secs. Class A1 which is for Junior classes was next on track and Jade Goodwin took a very impressive lights to flag victory to put her level on points at the top of the championship. Max Barnbrook worked his way through the grid after starting on P7 to take 2nd place at the chequered flag with Tim Edwards and Kurt Roberts completing the top 4. Another fine grid of 18 drivers taking to the track for the Junior final.

Next up was Class B which is for all 4 strokes including 390’s, GX200’s and GX160’s competing in separate championship classes. Mike Kenworthy won the Thunderkart class race. In the GX200 modified class Colin Jones took the win . In the 200 box class Bradley Butcher took a well deserved victory from Andy Downey in 2nd and Henry Brough in 3rd with the standard 200’s producing some of the closest and best racing of the day. Darryl Warren won the box 160 class from Matthew Higgins in 2nd.Class A2 Senior Rotax was dominated by Emma Jones cementeing her championship-leading place, taking the win from Tony Davies in 2nd. Andy Weaver and Lewis Baldock had a close battle all race but eventually Weaver took 3rd with Baldock having to settle for 4th. In Class F which is for front wheel brake outfits Matthew Minett took the win from Matt Browning in 2nd. The last final of the day was for Class E which is for all 100CC TKM’s and Formula Blues with Rick Schofield coming through from 4th on the grid to take the win only 1 tenth ahead of Weyne Burgis in 2nd. Lawrence Allmark was a little further back in 3rd. And that concluded another competitive days racing in the Non licence holder IndiKart Championship at Hooton Park.