Clay Pigeon IKR

With continued growth in all of the main classes as well as a visit from F100 90’s, the Summer Series finale was the busiest meeting yet. This was to be the day that the championships were decided and all was still to play for across the board.

Cadet – Champion, Luke Adams
Luke Adams began the day with a 2 point advantage over brother, Jake. The boys benefited from early commitment to the series, as the class has grown from just 3 entries at Round 1 to 9 at Round 3. Bradley Sheppard continued his form from Round 2, showing great pace from the outset, but newcomer Dan Mackintosh threatened to upset the apple cart with a strong showing in qualifying and the heats. Ethan Perry was also looking competitive and clearly determined to keep Dan and Bradley on their toes. The final was hotly contested, with Dan ultimately taking the honours from Bradley in second and Ethan in third. Another strong performance from Luke Adams ensured he finished at the front of a closely fought battle for fourth, just ahead of Jake Adams and Ollie Tyler. Congratulations to Luke on securing the first ever Clay Pigeon IKR cadet title!

Senior Rotax – Champion, Alex Cobb
Consistently the largest and most competitive grid in the series and you can always rely on these drivers to put on a show. The day began with four drivers separated by as many points, Alex Cobb holding a 2 point lead over nearest rival, Peter Jeanes. After winning R2, Peter was still doing his best to recover from an incident at R1 that put a big dent in his title hopes. He went about his business the only way he knows how, flat out and did what he could to take the title. A dominant display saw him take the final, closely followed by Luke Chard-Maple. Ultimately however, the end result was out of his hands and Alex knew what he had to do. Quick and consistent as always, he brought his kart home safely in third place and secured the Championship.

Senior TKM + Easy Kart – Champion, Oli Nitch-Smith
You’ve got the theme by now, more drivers in this class too and in both sub-classes. It won’t be long before we have a separate Easy Kart grid but for the time being friendly racing with TKM’s provides some good battles, with the lighter TKM’s perhaps having a slight edge in the bends and the Easy Karts powering away in the acceleration zones. The TKM title was Oli Nitch- Smith’s to lose and he didn’t disappoint with another dominant display. Easy Kart newcomer Darren Smith kept himself just ahead of Oli for the whole day, finishing first on circuit and in class. The runner up spot was less of a certainty as a mixture of poor reliability and downright stupidity in previous rounds left Nick Cridge and Chris Cox locked in an incredibly close battle for the honours. On this occasion Chris just about held on for second in class on the day but that wasn’t enough to overcome Nick’s 2 point advantage in the Championship.

Senior Pro Kart – Champion, Joe Higgins
5 entries at R1 developed into 14 at R3, though no change at the front as Joe Higgins and Jeff Johnson showed they were still the daddies of the class in qualifying. Unfortunately, other commitments at R2 for Jeff meant that Joe was almost certain to claim the title as long as he finished with a half decent result. Behind them was the battle for runner up between Steve Grose and Gareth Evans. On lap times the two were very close but Gareth consistently managed to stay 2 or 3 places ahead of Steve on track. The final is where it matters though and Steve was able to keep Gareth just about close enough to ensure he took second in the Championship by a single point. Meanwhile, Jeff and Joe treated us to possibly the best battle of the day as they fought for the race win. Jeff held the lead for almost the entire race, Joe getting past briefly mid-way through only to be repassed at the next corner. In the end though, Jeff’s resolve gave in just too soon as Joe passed on the final lap and took the chequered flag.

Rotax 177 – Champion, Antoine Marcade
A class in its own right since round 2, the 177 title went down to the wire, with Antoine Marcade coming in holding the advantage. Gary Prebble wasn’t ready to give up though and showed great pace, getting in amongst the top runners in the lightweight class. Gary completed a sterling drive to finish 5th on track but Antoine held off Andy Cutliffe to finish third in class and take the title by one point.