Clay Pigeon Race Report

Clay Pigeon Race Report

Championship Round 2 & Formula Blue O Plates, 14th April 2014

The second club round of the year was enhanced by the Junior and Senior Blues competing for   their O Plates.

Daniel Lamport won the MiniMax final after an early-race battle with Tommy Foster but when Foster retired, the way was clear for Lamport. Harry Gooding was 2nd by 0.5s with Riley Philips less than a tenth behind.

Junior TKM and the Junior Blue O Plate field raced together with Blue Jake Drew Calvert leading all the way ahead of TKM Cole Edwards. The next Blue home was Taylor Waldron in 8th overall. Ross Deal moved up to second in TKM.

Shanaka Clay won Junior Rotax by a large margin from Alex Forshaw while the only X30 in the race, Josh Pickford, won overall just ahead of Clay.

In the combined Cadet class Ethan Rees won IAME four-tenths ahead of the Honda winner Guy Cunnington. Second IAME was Reece Lycett in 10th.

Even more classes were combined on the main Senior grid where James Moorcroft won Rotax and overall. Sammy Bourlet won in X30, Leon Lerego KGP and Julian Howell in Rotax 177.

Senior Blue had a full grid with a B Final which was won by Elis Jackson who made it up to 14th in the A Final. Martin Wheeler led all the way in the A Final to win by over 6s. Douglas Simpson was 2nd for the first half of the race but he was overtaken by Ross Adamson, James Rees and Stuart Gray who finished in that order.

Michael Eastwell took the lead of the TKM Extreme and Masters final on lap four and pulled away from Charlie Bruce-White and Jamie Patten. Anwar Beroul-Smith was the Masters winner in fourth.