BMKC Championship – Round 4

WordPress database error: [Table 'kmuk_db.wp_fblb' doesn't exist]
SELECT * FROM wp_fblb WHERE id = 1

2014 Summer Championship, Round 4, 22nd June

The fourth round of the BMKC Championships coincided with the hottest day of the year and the high temperatures may have accounted for the few frayed tempers that were witnessed.

The circuit was very fast with no less than six new class records being set during the morning Pre Finals when the ambient conditions were favourable to fast laps. Charlie Humphreys topped the Bambino timesheets after the two six-lap runs. Jacob Baldry, driving for the last time in Bambino before switching to Cadets, was runner-up. The fight for the third place was very close with Josh Irfan just edging out Nathan Clifford. Ciaran Bouffe continues to improve and set the fifth quickest time.

The Honda Cadet grand final was another classic with the outcome in doubt until the final run to the chequered flag. Zak Rogers took the spoils on this occasion with Harrison Blake and new lap record holder Oliver Bearman in third place. Matthew Watters was fourth, Ben Fayers fifth and Alfie Glenie rounded off the top six. Sam Shaw claimed the IAME winner’s trophy in the closing laps after long time leader Rashan Chigorimbo was slightly delayed whilst lapping a back marker.

An outstandingly well timed drive by Owen Tolley saw him take a narrow victory over Oliver Bennett in the Honda Clubman class, which was the largest grid of the meeting. Sam Heading continues to impress, taking third place on this occasion. Aston Millar is creeping closer to the front and his efforts were rewarded with fourth place this month. Dylan Cooper claimed the fifth spot just ahead of the top novice driver Tom Lebbon.

Having not been seen at Bayford Meadows for a number of months, William Stacey made a triumphant return heading home the Junior Rotax field. William could not relax at any point during the final as new lap record holder Jonathan Wilkes was snapping at his heels for the duration of the race. A few seconds behind the leading duo at the flag, Liam Carter secured his best finish of the summer championship with third place. Harrison Paice took a solid fourth ahead of Charlie Oliver in the fifth spot.

Jake Paice used all his experience to get the better of novice plate driver Nathan Jeffrey in Junior Subaru. Nathan had been quick all day but when it came to the grand final, Jake’s race craft paid dividends. A return to form for Sam Kelly netted him a podium spot in third place. Antonio Sagona put in a typically determined drive for fourth just ahead of championship leader Chandler Horsefield. Josh Young received a Novice award.

Tyler Sullivan and Charlie Bennett starred in the Pre Finals for the MiniMax class, and we were expecting a close race in the Grand Final, but Tyler seemed to have found a slight edge over his rival during the early laps opening up a small gap that he maintained for the duration of the race. Patrick Kibble had the improving Sean Berry on his tail throughout the race as they fought over the third place spot. Sean did make a lunge on the final lap but Patrick was not to be denied and shut the door firmly to secure the spot. Callum Hawkins-Row claimed the Novice driver award.

For the second meeting running, Cameron Clarke got the better of Bayford ‘legend’ Steve Bull in Senior Rotax, the two drivers were evenly matched as they lapped consistently within a tenth of one another without the slightest hint of a mistake. Steve Crow had a relatively lonely run to third ahead of ex-Junior Rotax club champion Stephen Cutts in fourth. Henry Jarvis put in his normal all action drive securing the 177kg trophy and a new class record.