RLK Formula 270 Round 4 Report

Red Lodge Karting’s Formula 270 4th Round started dry after the previous days rain, however the strong wind continued its presence. 26 drivers in two groups started with a one hot lap of qualifying to decide the grid for their first heats. In Group A Jake Taplin took pole with Aaron Lask and George Parker keeping him in toe. Aaron and George worked together early to make the pass on the pole sitter Jake and the top 3 made a sizeable gap from the rest of the pack, lead by 90kg driver David Lask. Ethan Hall and James Rose managed to break through at the half way point to pursue the top 3 who were now 10 seconds up the road, but to no avail. It wasn’t all set at the front though as George Parker was caught by Jake Taplin for second place although a little too late to catch Aaron. in 1st. Group B saw Will Gibbs on pole, however this was short lived as Charlie Pickering took the lead on lap one and stayed their until the end. Will eventually finished second with Andy Cornish 3rd and the rest of the field a further 10 seconds behind.

Heat 2 Richard Kemp looked set to take the lead on the opening lap until a yellow flag left over from the first corner halted his move. After the barrier was replaced he managed to sneak past at the 180 pursued by James Rose and Aaron Lask. His lead was short lived as they both slipped past and dropped him to 3rd with George Parker demoting him to 4th on the next lap to complete the top 3. George was able to take 2nd place from James this time and only 0.1 of a second of Aaron Lask who took his second win on the trot. For group B this was surely the closest race of the night with the whole field keeping within 12 seconds from the leader to last. John Barson looked good on his Formula 270 debut to stay in 2nd for 5 laps before a spin at the 180 demoted him all the way to 8th. Andy Cornish won the heat by just 0.1 seconds from John Padley and Charlie Pickering settling for 3rd.

Heat 3 saw a sprinkling of rain at the start but it soon stopped and by lap 3 the lap times were comparable to a dry lap. Drama on lop 3 saw contact between Ethan Hall, David Lask and Rafal Wolski who took the brunt of the impact by shearing two boys of his right rear after connecting with the spinning David Lask. This then gave us a replica top 3 of the first heat albeit with a different winner of Jake Taplin, Aaron having to settle for 2nd this time around in front of George in 3rd. The excitement was clearly too much for the official timings for Group B as the computer crashed, probably because it was just as packed as the previous heat. However it was Will Gibbs finishing first pursued by Andy Cornish in 2nd and Ash Connor rounding up the top 3.

That meant on the night Aaron Lask as winner, equaling his points total of the opening round, just 2 points off the maximum with 106. Andy Cornish made his second century in a row with 102 (while also taking the 80kg win) and a huge 15 point gap to 3rd place man Ash Connor. James Oakley once again took the 90kg win to complete his unbeaten run, however this time by just one point.

Like this article? Then check out all our other race reports here:

All Club Racing reports

Main Race Reports page