Shenington Kart Racing Club Round 10 Report

WordPress database error: [Table 'kmuk_db.wp_fblb' doesn't exist]
SELECT * FROM wp_fblb WHERE id = 1

16th October 2016

A decent entry of 150 drivers included full grids for both Cadet classes and good grids of TKM and Junior X30.  The club wants to attract the senior X30 with a special offer for the end of October and also looks to rebuild the Rotax grids.  Well supported races for OK and OK Junior are expected in November with great offers from ACR/Vega and Vortex/Strawberry.  The early heavy rain soon moved away leaving good weather with sunny periods throughout.

After snatching the Junior TKM lead from Joe Taylor, William Layton extended it to a huge 4.65s whilst a massive battle for second raged behind.  Taylor and Joshua Sherriff swapped second place until Zak Oates nipped past Spencer Stevenson at Café Corner putting himself in prime position for the last lap shuffle.  So Stevenson took second ahead of Sherriff, Alexander Page, Connor Kearney and the unfortunately demoted Taylor.  Dragan Pinsent leapfrogged from third in Junior X30 passing Robert Welham and Matthew Herbert for the lead.  He managed to hang on until the chequer flag whilst Zak Bowen had broken clear of Rufus Hunt but still over a second in arrears to Herbert.  Full grids for both Cadet classes had Oliver Denny and Jamie Mead breaking away at the front of the IAME 2-stroke category.


Freddie Spindlow punched ahead of Harrison Skinner for third and for a short while looked like he might catch the leaders.  Instead he became embroiled in a fight with Freddie Slater and just managed to retrieve third for the flag.  In the Honda 4-stroke category Dylan Cooper fell from first to third behind Caden McQeen and Alex Ley but worked his way back up with Ley now leading.  It was all change in the chicane, Cooper coming out ahead for the win over Ley with McQeen falling back although holding onto third from Thomas Mills and Daniel Guinchard.  Dan Bury took a steady third in the last round of the 210 Challenge and with that clinched the 2016 championship title.

The local driver can now put the Number 1 plate on his kart, adding to his 2016 achievement in winning the Open single day championship for the O Plate.  Tom Whyte had led most of the final until he drifted wide at Café corner coming up to a back-marker.  That allowed Adam Woodward to pounce and cruise to the win, with Bury shadowing Whyte, needing no more for the title.  Returnee James Mudd made the best start in KZ UK gearbox then succumbed to Dan Kelly whilst Tom Longfield took Hannah Lang for third.  As Kelly checked out with a lead of nearly 7s Longfield took second but Mudd fought back and the pair clashed coming out of the last corner, both retiring.  That left Lang with second.  In 250 National Chris Morris won over Mark Pask.


A fantastic battle in TKM Extreme had many lead changes between Matthew Taylor, Harry Moore and  Max Goldsmith.  As it all closed up at the end with Chris Goffin tailing the lead six kart battle, Goldsmith lost his lead at Stratford hairpin with Taylor taking the win.  In the economy Clubman TKM category a four-way fight for the win had Oliver Buskell in charge for a few laps. Then Michael Green came to the front before being usurped by Graham Stewart for the win whilst Jessica Brickley hung on for fourth behind Buskell.


Full results available here:

Like this article? Then check out all our other race reports here:

All Club Racing reports

Main Race Reports page