Shenington Kart Racing Club – Round 7

Shenington Kart Racing Club, Round 7, 20th jUly 2014

Good racing on a hot and humid day, with thankfully no more thunderstorms.

214 drivers signed on for Round 7 of the club championship, the TKM entry swelled by the visitors in the Midlands InterClub Championship. Many of the IAME Cadets were present to prepare for the September LGM round. Unfortunately there was not enough gearbox drivers for a race this time.

In Honda Cadet Thomas Pegram and Keaton Samra broke away at the start but were soon caught by Mark Kimber and Tom Canning. Pegram was shuffled back to fourth in favour of Kimber, who went on to win over a recovering Pegram, Canning third over Jenson Butterfield and Klaas Kooiker. Ben Kasperczak was running fifth until he crashed and the kart briefly caught fire, soon extinguished by the marshals with him alright. Jonathan Hoggard’s tenure in the MiniMax lead was short lived as Thomas Turner and Sam Kirkpatrick stormed past and repeatedly swapped first place to the flag. With a great move on the last lap Kirkpatrick came out on top whilst Hoggard held third over Sean Butcher. The pressure on Comer Cadet leader Jonathan Lawrence was relieved when second placed Charlie Webster ran wide over the kerbs in the chicane and put Will Day into a spin when he came back on the track. That earned Webster a five place penalty elevating Finlay Issaacs and Jack Williams to the podium, whilst Day came back to fourth.

The large IAME Cadet contingent saw Albert Carter relieved of the lead by Zac Robertson until Joe Turney stormed through to win over Carter. Robertson had lost touch with the leaders but was still well ahead of Jonny Edgar who had made up a couple of places in a tight fight. The race was stopped with a lap to run to attend to what was sixth placed Jamie Mead, crashing in the chicane exit. Will Shaw was shuffled back from the front of the Junior Max final by Josh Skelton until Lucas Vaus leapfrogged from fourth to first and stormed clear to win. Charlie Cudlipp pounced on Skelton for second. With 41 Junior TKM drivers a last chance B Final was needed to sort out the A Final grid, Liam Wilson winning, Sam Jackson excluded. Aaron Mills and Matthew Taylor were the class of the field, drawing over 3s clear of the rest as they fought for supremacy. After several exchanges Mills sold Taylor a beautiful dummy to re-take the lead and hold on for the win. Sam Fowler held off Christopher Whitton and Ryan Edwards for third. Shea Pearce was excluded for driving standards. Thomas Broadley was the highest mover, coming from the B to eighth place, whilst Matthew Graham fell back to eleventh, just ahead of compatriot Ronan Haskett.

Their Senior equivalents saw Ashley Jones lead most of the race from Jack Monkhouse until he succumbed to a brave pass and could not find a way back. Some 5s back Matthew Allnutt kept Jamie Tyler, Michael Hitchcock and Jack Griffiths at bay after the trio contesting third all crashed out together coming into the Café corner. Tom Longfield had taken the Clubman lead from the start but was soon leapfrogged by both Morris and Goldsmith who then traded the lead to the chequered flag. Goldsmith led with a lap to go but Morris retrieved it on the last lap. A last gasp attempt by Goldsmith failed by just half a kart’s length. Longfield held onto third from Daniel Mense whilst Jessica Brickley had her best result in fifth just beating the locally based pair of Andre Marot and Kyle Morby whilst her husband David could only manage eleventh. A contentious Rotax Max final had Jack Constable force his way to the front only to be given a drive through penalty, the first of two, leaving Sam Ward in the lead. Ward also was excluded for a technical non-compliance so Leon Hilleard inherited the win over Matthew Hirst and Charlie Turner.