Shenington Kart Racing Club SuperPrix Report

WordPress database error: [Table 'kmuk_db.wp_fblb' doesn't exist]
SELECT * FROM wp_fblb WHERE id = 1

Shenington – 16 July 2017

With a fantastic entry of 254 karts for the annual Teng Tools Kart SuperPrix, plus another eighty karts from the fifties to nineties for the Historic Revival, the meeting was widely applauded.  The KZ UK were racing for the MSA E Plate as well as being a round of the ABkC Super 4 national championships, the 210 National for their O Plate and all the other classes for the SP (SuperPrix) plate.  The 250 National was also a round of the Super 4.  Guests enjoyed pizza and the bar on Friday night, and the pig roast and music on Saturday in one of the two large marquees.  The event was televised for and Frontrunner and will start on 14 August and the British Historic Kart Club and the The Legends put on some evocative track demonstrations.  The Club wishes to thank the many sponsors who helped pay for the television and especially Teng Tools for putting up £3000 of tool vouchers for the podiums.


James Pashley led into the first corner of the Junior TKM final but Joe Taylor went past on the second lap, Pashley retaliating at the next hairpin.  But he was elbowed aside and dropped to fourth as Ross Deal and Spencer Stevenson vied for the lead.  Another shuffle put Robert Welham in front, hanging on for the win with Pashley settling for third behind Deal, and ahead of Taylor.  Charlie Typaldo-Cole won the concurrent MiniX class with a new lap record.  Alessandro Ceronetti led the Junior X30 final but was pushed back to fourth as Harry Restall and Reggie Duhy tried to escape at the front.  As they diced, Caden McQueen joined in the fun but crashed with Duhy at the last hairpin losing many places.  Restall won from Evan Cook and Ceronetti.  Will Layton gained eleven places during the race for fourth and for his efforts was awarded the Gil Rixon Driver of the Day trophy.  Alfie Baxter-Davies, Joe Sheppy, Maximus Hall and Bradley Beavers all vied for the lead of the IAME Cadet.  Beavers led on the last lap but Hall dived inside and took them both wide, earning himself a 10s penalty, leaving Sheppy to win from Baxter-Davies and Max Speed whilst Briggs held seventh.

Ross Allen sped to victory in the 250 National class.  Coming off the start in third behind Jack Bliss and team-mate James Hassall he was quickly past Bliss and hunting down Hassall.  On his tail for a few laps, Allen found a gap and eked out a second’s cushion for the win.  Bliss got tangled up in a four kart pile up in the chicane leaving Lee Stamp to defend third from Paul Lawson. There was further local interest in the third geared class, the 210 National, racing for the O Plate, where Banbury father and son Tony and Dan Bury were competing.  An unchallenged Tom Whyte took the honours with Lee Plain recovering from a tardy start to beat the slowing Neil Hancock for second.  Dan Bury, the current class champion, overwhelmed Adam Woodward for fourth.

In the KZ UK class Scott Allen led the 30 strong pack into the first hairpin but his mission to retain the E Plate, the English Championship, was thwarted when Henry Easthope and Shane Daly proved to have a smidgeon of extra pace.  Allen held onto third, on their tail, and simultaneously defending against Matteo Zanetti.  By half distance Daly had moved into the lead to win.  Honda Cadet was by far the largest class with a 20 strong B Final.  Initially leading, Archie Briggs was pushed down to fifth by Neo Phipps but he battled back up the order to lead over the finish line with Phipps second.  Longtime leader Alfie Rigby had to settle for fourth behind Oliver Greenall.

Despite being the smallest grid, Senior X30 provided excitement as Rob Wheldon and Matthew Graham repeatedly swapped the lead, Wheldon eventually falling out.  That let Piers Prior take the win from Graham and Nathan Herbert, as second over the line Harry Moore had a 10s penalty added.  Samuel Baker enjoyed an unchallenged win in TKM Clubman where Andre Marot was defending the SP plate he won last year but he started a lowly ninth after a spin in a heat.  Christian Chater leapfrogged into second but slowed before the end with a terminal steering problem.  Suk Sandher hit Chris Yates out of second in the chicane gifting that place to Will Hulacki and promoting Marot to fourth.  Max Goldsmith’s lead in TKM Extreme was short-lived as James Ogden took him just before the pace was slowed to clear a multi kart pile up at Café Corner.  Later Goldsmith was elbowed wide and into a spin, out of contention.  Ogden had to give best to Sam Fowler, and they were followed over the line by Adam Sparrow and Tom Owen.

Click here to see the full results

 Report By Graham Smith

Images courtesy of

Like this article? Then check out all our other race reports here:

All Club Racing reports

Main Race Reports page