SHENINGTON KC Championship, 7th December 2014

The last meeting of the 2014 season was sadly lower in entries than usual due to clashes with other clubs but still gave rise to some great racing. The gearbox grids have held up well, and were enhanced by former British champion Bobby Game having his first race in the category, acquitting himself very well. The morning was damp from overnight rain, then the sun came out to start drying it out. However a short, sharp shower had everyone scrambling to put the wets back on for the Cadet finals. The Honda Cadets had Alex Eades out ahead with Jonathan Robertson with him to the half way point then fading rapidly to fih as his tyres went off. Caden McQueen’s set up proved best as he closed on Eades and after a brief exchange took the win. Eades held onto the club championship though. Leonardo Panayiotou was untouchable in the IAME Cadet final, leaving Lorenzo Kordal seven seconds in arrears.

The biggest bale was for third, with Armandas Pocevicius eventually breaking clear of Oliver Stratford. Before changing classes, Caden McQueen had clinched the IAME club championship. With everyone now on slick tyres, Mahew Taylor surged into the Junior TKM lead followed by Matthew Round-Garrido and Joseph Reeves-Smith. But Reeves-Smith succumbed to Anderson Chilco and entered a race-long bale with local compatriot Matthew Graham, Graham eventually prevailing. Arran Mills had wrapped up the title, giving him a chance to show off his Number 1 plate before moving up to Extreme. Kieran Wragg, having seled the MiniMax title, has moved up to Junior Max and sped away from Quintin Hayward for the win, Sam Stansbury having already won the series.

In MiniMax, Brooke Childs was in a class of her own, well clear
of Zak Bowen and she clinched runner-up position in the series. Jack Ransom out manoeuvred Harry Moore at the second corner at the TKM Extreme start, and they held the positions to the end. Jack Monkhouse had sewn up the title earlier in the season.

In the TKM Clubman race, Max Goldsmith had to work hard to keep Tom Longfield at bay, whilst Andre Marot spun out. Josh Waring won the championship, with Goldsmith the highest placed local driver in fourth. Dean Hale had no trouble winning Senior Rotax Max, over Luke Griffen, and also clinched the club championship. Scott Allen dominated the final of the KZ UK 125cc gearbox class at the final round of the Herington Club Championship. With a perfect start he soon had a commanding lead over Ben Blick, formerly a Junior Max driver, who succumbed to Dan Kelly for second, but still 5s behind Allen. Blick hung onto third in the face of a determined attack by Cameron Twynham, Bobby Game and Stephen Tyldsley. Game, a former multiple British champion, was enjoying his first taste of gearbox class racing, and had proved very competitive in the wet heats with a second and fourth place finishes.

Results Honda Cadet IAME 1 Cadet McQueen Zip 2 Alex Eades BRK 3 Harry Restall Zip TKM Extreme 1 Jack Ransom Alonso 2 Harry Moore Jade 3 Gareth Haynes Tonykart Cadet Junior TKM 1 Leonardo Panayiotou Zip 2 Lorenzo Kordal Zip 3 Armandas Pocevicius Zip TKM Clubman 1 Max Goldsmith Tonykart 2 Tom Longfield Jade 3 David Brickley Jade Junior Max 1 Matthew Taylor Tonykart 2 Matthew Round-Garrido Tonykart 3 Anderson Chilco Jade Senior Rotax Max 1 Dean Hale Wright 2 Luke Griffen Kosmic 3 James Moorcro Tonykart MiniMax 1 Kieran Wragg Tonykart 2 Quintin Hayward Tonykart 3 James Bailey Tonykart KZ UK 1 Scott Allen Gold/IAME 2 Dan Kelly Sodi/TM 3 Ben Blick Sodi/TM 1 Brooke Childs ART 2 Zak Bowen tba 3 James Hardy Tonykart 250 National 1 Alex Burrows Jade/Honda 2 Ross Allen Jade/Honda 3 Max Buckley Jade/Honda