South Yorkshire Kart Club – Wombwell

WordPress database error: [Table 'kmuk_db.wp_fblb' doesn't exist]
SELECT * FROM wp_fblb WHERE id = 1

September 2014 – Wombwell

The South Yorkshire Kart Club were pleased to host the 6th round of the NKF championship with its September club meeting at Wombwell. As usual the NKF brought a large number of drivers to bolster the grids, even resulting in a B Final for the IAME cadet drivers, it was going to be a busy schedule for all.

JuniorRotaxwere on track for the first final of the day with James Parish on pole from NKF championship leader Jack Brailsford. Brailsford making the better start from the outside as they turned into the tight turn one, as local championship contender Thomas Wood slid wide onto the grass, with others following suit the leaders edged away. Brendan Pattison closing in to challenge the lead pair but his challenge looked to be over as he dropped back to 5th but he would find his way back to 3rd by the flag. Parish took the lead from Brailsford only for it to be overhauled in the dash for the line – ultimately is was a very close finish with Brailsford crossing the line 0.1 ahead of Parish. The Novice trophy going to Daniel Kilburn ahead of Morgan Gray.Next up were the Honda cadets, with 4 novices in the field there would be trophies for all to fight for. Once again it was the more experienced NKF drivers at the head of the field. At the first corner Connor Garner and Caeson Gibson clashed, once untangled they would be left dead last. Up front Riley Banks narrowly led from Archie Swinscoe and Kai Hunter. Further back the battle for honours in the novices was between Max & Harvey Edmundson who were inseparable throughout, finishing a very creditable 4th & 5th respectively. Swinscoe just held on to the lead by the narrowest of margins from Banks at the flag.

The Bambino time Trial came out next, always a pleasure to see the club racers of the future fi nding their feet, all deserving of a mention and suitably given a medal at the presentation, the drivers being Oliver Wright, Chance Benne€ , Harley Keeble, Max Jordan, Oliver Brooke, Ella Stevens & Nathan Tye.OntoMinimax where Rhys hunter claimed pole ahead of Adam Ba€ y who knows Wombwell as well as anyone, it looked like a close race in the making, but as Hunter and Ben Summers were clean through on the inside line Ba€ y took a nudge and off he went along with 3 others who were le’ to struggle back through the fi eld, Ba€ y would see his advantage cut in the championship as he only fi nished 8th. Hunter and Summers would be locked together throughout, Hunter staying calm and fought back a’er Summers slipped by and from thereon he gave no chances in claiming this win, Jae Dale was just over a second behind the lead duo in a race of his own waiting in vain for an error from the leaders.

Good to see a grid of Jnr TKM’s back at Wombwell, with Lewis Murray returning to a track where he drove in cadets, it must have given him great pleasure to claim pole from Connor Stephenson. Murray making an early gap to Stephenson, but he could not maintain his lead and Stephenson ominously closed in, until they exchanged the lead a couple of times before Stephenson took the flag. Always good to watch are the IAME cadets and with a full grid of competitive young drivers the winner couldn’t be predicted. Teddy Williams held pole, with Wombwell returnee Joe Beecroft alongside. After a first lap incident at the hairpin the race was restarted and immediately Beecroft took the lead that initially looked comfortable as he moved away from Williams who was challenged by Callum Hattersley& Oliver Brooke. Brooke eventually worked through to 2nd and closed the gap to the leader, but he ran out of laps as Beecroft raised his first in celebration. Further back Tilly Goundry drove excellently to take the novice trophy – finishing in a very creditable 10th overall.

Senior Rotax final was very much anticipated with a full grid and a number of quick drivers, but could they challenge the NKF championship leader Jay Taylor who had claimed pole ahead of James Lingard. The front of the grid made a nice clean start, but towards the back there was contact at turn one leading to a tangle of several karts who would continue but now out of contention. By now Taylor had opened a gap over Ryan Turner and James Lingard, Lingard was pacing his run as he steadily closed in taking Turner and challenging Taylor. During the final couple of laps there would be contact and although Lingard took the flag he would receive a 5 place penalty handing the win to Jay Taylor ahead of Turner. The third podium spot going to Tom Shipman after a steady srive.

Last final was for the Senior X30’s where Harry Winkfield was dominant despite the best efforts of Peter Sharrocks and Justin Clarke.