South Yorkshire KC

WordPress database error: [Table 'kmuk_db.wp_fblb' doesn't exist]
SELECT * FROM wp_fblb WHERE id = 1

10th May, W-plate meeting, Wombwell

The weather was a nice for the SYKC “W” Meeting and there was a very healthy entry list.

The “W” plate is a special meeting in memory of Brian Wilson, Brian was an active member of SYKC from 1970 until his untimely death in 1992. Brian got involved in Karting because of his 11 year old son Mike Wilson who at the age of 18 moved to Italy to become a team driver for Birel and he went on to win 6 World Championships.

SYKC decided to hold an annual event and Mike decided to donate one of his World Championship trophies that is awarded to the driver of the day chosen by Brian’s wife Eileen.

The winner of each of the classes get to use the “W” plate for the year.

Iami Cadet once again had the biggest grid and they did not disappoint anyone with the racing in all of the heats. Pole was taken by Joe Beecroft who won 2 of the heats and Joe Ellison joining him on the front row, Joe Ellison took the win from a very close Joe Beecroft with Jenson Parker taking 3rd with only half a second between the 3 of them. Jay Holtby taking first Novice trophy.

Once again the smaller classes give the best racing for the spectators and the Honda Cadet class did not let anyone down. Heat wins were taken by Cian Ketteringham in heat 1 and Caeson Gibson heats 2 and 3. Pole position was taken by Maurice Henry who had a 2nd, 4th, 3rd in the heats. After some close racing all the way down the grid the win was taken by Caeson Gibson and Jajay Cook taking the Novice trophy.

Mini Max gave some good entertaining races for this big crowd. Jack Martin took wins in heats 1&2 but Teddy Pritchard-Williams and Oliver Smith made him work for the wins, heat 3 was won by Teddy Pritchard-Williams. Jack Martin was on pole with Oliver Smith joining him on the front row. Jack Martin won the final with Teddy Pritchard-Williams les than a tenth of a second behind. Mathew Bonnett taking the Novice Trophy.

Junior Max had a disappointing entry but Adam Batty and James Parish did not let anyone down, Adam won all the heats and went on to win the final from pole position with James finishing a very close runner up.

Junior X30 grids are getting stronger every meeting and the racing was very close all day, Josh Rafferty won heat 1 with River Hughes second, Tom Rafferty won heat 2 with Josh Rafferty second, heat 3 was won by River Hughes with Steven Dixon second so everyone new this was the final to watch. Josh Rafferty was on pole with River 2nd and Tom 3rd. the start was good and Josh and Tom Rafferty set about racing each other with the lead swapping many times before the flag, the spectators could not believe the result. a first for SYKC it was a DEAD HEAT and when the times came out they had both done the fastest lap, Josh on lap 8 and Tom lap 5, what a good race by the Rafferty Brothers.

Senior Max looked like a clean sweep by James Lingard who won all 3 heats from Ryan Turner, Nathan Chafer was was a late entry and drove well to qualify 3rd from starting at the back in all the heats. The final was a light to flag win for James Lingard with Ryan Turner 2nd

The X30 grid gets better and better and the quality of the drivers are also getting better. Jordan Baines won the first two heats with Peter Sharrocks taking the win in the third heat, Peter was on pole because of his consistent heats, Jordan and Peter made a good start and battled for the first half of the race and Peter took the win from Jordan close behind. Novice trophy was won by Murray Behrens.

The Driver of the day was given to Mini Max Jack Martin. The free tyre draw for Rotax classes sponsored by

Strawberry Racing were:

Mini Max: Matthew Bonnett Junior Max: Luke Wingfield Senior Max: Ryan Turner