European KZ 2014 – Wackersdorf, Germany

Stock-FlagWackersdorf, Germany: July 13, 2014

The second of three competitions for the three categories at Wackersdorf completely fulfilled its duty of reviving the struggle for the titles.

Following the decision to approve a new front fairing attachment to fight against incidents on the track, the CIK-FIA chose to implement the fairings for the first time at Wackersdorf in the Academy Trophy.

Kakunoshi Ota, the winner of the opening Academy Trophy final in Belgium, Dutch drivers Rinus Van Kalmthout and Richard Verschoor as well as Berkay Besler were the four to contest the final, but the surprise came from French driver Alexandre Vromant, who just qualified by taking sixth position in the Second Chance Heat. It took him ten laps to reach the leading group and then escaped to victory. Verschoor took second place.

The KZ2 final started on a wet track which gradually dried. The wet tyre pressures used by all drivers played an increasingly prominent role over the laps.Simas Juodvirsis (Energy-Maxter-B’stone) stormed from his 13th place on the grid. Second from the 7th lap, he would gain 4 places in nine laps and grab the lead. While Juodvirsis crossed the finish line as the winner, Jan Midrla passed the flag 17 seconds later ahead of John Norris and Maik Siebecke. But a ten-second penalty handed to Midrla gave the second step of the podium to Norris and 3rd to Siebecke.

In a superb KZ Final, Jonathan Thonon (Praga-Parilla-B’stone) had to time his attack well to make a difference. Marco Ardigo retired mid-race due to a mechanical problem while holding 5th. Behind Thonon, Rick Dreezen managed to get the better of Bas Lammers five laps from the end, Flavio Camponeschi regained five positions to finish fourth from Jordon Lennox-Lamb. Paolo De Conto erased the negativity by moving up from 27th to 7th place.