HODDESDON KC 7th December 2014, Rye House Kart Raceway

The tenth and final round of Hoddesdon Kart Club’s Championships for 2014 was held at Rye House Raceway. The weather was cold and cloudy, with a fresh breeze and a damp track with some intermittent rain squalls. 80 drivers signed on, which included 11 novices.

The first final of the day was for Rotax 177. Starting from 3rd position Tony Parfe maintained the position for the first lap and moved into 2nd place in front of Rob Buchanan on lap 6 to win by 12.66 seconds from Danny Ryder. Ryder started 4th but had dropped to 8th by the end of the first lap and narrowly finished in 2nd, 0.06 seconds in front of Buchanan. Fastest Lap was 46.10 seconds set by Jamie Lynch on lap 4.First over the line was pole sitter Tom Daniels who was denied his victory through a late mechanical defect to his rear bumper.

Next up was Senior Rotax. Starting from pole George Sanders led every lap of the race to win by 4.47 seconds from Kieran Allen. Allen started 5th but made his way up to the pack to 2nd. Lee Ward, who started 2nd dropped to 3rd at the end of the opening lap, and remained there to the flag ahead of Andrew Wilkins. Fastest Lap was 45.32 seconds set by George Sanders on lap 10. Ben Kasperczak led every lap of the Honda Cadet final from pole to win by 7 seconds from Astin Wigley. Wigley started 4th, but quickly made his way into 2nd at the end of the first lap, past front row starter Louie Westover who had to sele for third. Kasperczak’s dominance was demonstrated by claiming the fastest lap of 49.25 seconds on lap 7.

Like Kasperczak, pole sitter Alfie Haralambous led every lap of the MiniMax final to win by over 7 seconds from Harry Dyson. Dyson started 2nd but was unable to cut into Haralambous’ lead and was forced to sele for the second spot on the podium. Timothy Amadi had a lonely race in third ahead of Gus Burton. Jordan Brown was the biggest victor of the day, leading every lap of the Junior Rotax final from pole, to win by 13 seconds from Ben Sco. Sco started 5th, and had done well to rise to 2nd at the end of the first lap, but Brown was already untouchable. David Shepherd, who started 7th, was in 5th position at the end of the first lap, and claimed third at the flag ahead of William Hayden.

The last final of the day was for the combined grids of Honda Clubman and IAME Cadets. Starting from pole, Honda racer Khali Atkins led every lap of the race to win by 8 seconds
from IAME man Alfie Woodrow. Woodrow had a fantastic race, climbing to fourth by the end of the opening lap from his seventh place start. He progressed up to second and sprinted away from the Honda of Billy Styles. Styles started 5th and had dropped to 11th by the end of the first lap, but recovered well to take the final podium spot ahead of IAME Ma Marsh, who started 3rd. The fastest lap of 49.82 seconds was set by Khali Atkins on lap 9.

1 Ben Kasperczak Zip
2 Astin Wigley Zip
3 Louie Westover Octane
1 Jordan Brown Tony Kart 2 Ben Sco Octane
3 David Shepherd Octane
1 Khali Atkins BRK
2 Billy Styles Project One 3 Theo PastouProject One
1 Alfie Woodrow Shark
2 Ma Marsh Shark
3 Deagen Fairclough Shark
1 Tony Parfe CRG
2 Danny Ryder CRG
3 Rob Buchanan Kosmic
1 George Sanders Octane 2 Kieran Allen Octane
3 Lee Ward Formula K

Taken from Issue 705