Llandow Kart Club – August 2014

August 2014

Although the weather gods decided to play a trick on Llandow, with mixed conditions for what was supposedly a summer month, the Welsh club continued to produce fine action on-track as the championship moved into its second half.

With no Bambinos present, the assorted Cadet classes kicked things off, with Shay Keough and Max Fenlon sharing the heat wins in the IAME category. When it came to the Final, however, Thomas Nippers – who had been denied by just 0.001secs in heat three – came through to surprise both, claiming a rare success, with Fenlon second and Connor Kearney third.

The Honda class was no less fiercely contested, with Austin Maddocks and George Alp-Williams taking victory in the heats, before Jack Fordham stole the honours in the main event. Alp-Williams crossed the line in second place, with Maddocks third, just behind lone Comer runner Shayne Clarke.

The Honda Junior races were dominated by Celtic champion Kristian Prosser and Welsh champion Patrick Hill. The latter opened the day with victory in heat one but thereafter had to play second fiddle to his big rival, as Prosser took the top step in the remaining races. Behind them, Jack Bligh claimed third in heat one, before Ben Cutler took over the role of chief pursuer for the remainder of the day.

Junior and Mini Max once again ran together on-track, but there was no denying Rob Ellis who, after July’s interruption, returned to winning ways in fine style with a clean sweep of all four outings in the Junior category. David Spiller and Tom Croydon gave chase, with the later finishing as runner-up in the final, where Ceran Sokhi completed the podium.

Mini Max went the way of reigning Welsh champion Ethan Ling, who saw off the challenge of Riley Phillips in each race. Kieran Clarke and Jem Hempworth duelled over third spot, with the latter eventually taking the final step of the podium. Junior TKM produced four different winners from as many races, with Ross Deal, Hugo Homes and Yousuf Ashraf taking a heat apiece before Alex Rees came through to again claim top spot in the fi nal. Holmes and Ashraf completed the top three, less than a second behind the winner, with Deal eventually classified fourth. Danny Griffiths continued his recent dominant form in Senior Honda, but was denied a third consecutive sweep of the day’s action by being excluded from the opening heat. Undeterred, he bounced back to win the remaining races, including heading home Paul Saunders by some six seconds in the finale. Monty Gorringe claimed the final podium spot, denying Cristiano Nardone, who had celebrated victory in heat one earlier in the day. In the absence of Tom Stride, July winner Dilip Singh proved the man to beat in Senior Rotax, taking heats one and three before repeating his success in the main event. Gareth Taylor proved to be Singh’s closest opposition on this occasion, winning the remaining heat before chasing the victor home in the final. Sam Morgan chased Taylor to the line before rounding out the top three. Round eight of the 2014 Llandow club championship takes place at South Wales Karting Centre on Sunday 21 September.