Home » Reports » Llandow Kart Club, Round 8

Llandow Kart Club, Round 8

The sun was back in September as Llandow Kart Club’s championship took another step towards its denouement with eight classes in action at round eight.

The massed ranks of Cadets kicked things off, with IAME rivals Shay Keough and Max Fenlon battling it out at the front of the field. Fenlon claimed heat one but, from there on in, it was Keough at the top of the timesheets, claiming the remaining heats and the final as Fenlon found he had Connor Kearney for company. The Honda runners proved well-matched with four different winners in as many races. Rissington interloper Jensen Fennymore led brother Morgan across the line in a family 1-2 in the opening heat, before Llandow locals Oscar and Stuart Ferguson repeated the feat in race two. George Alp-Williams then took top spot in the final qualifier, but it was the driver behind him in that race who went on to take the win when it mattered most, as Louis Harvey claimed Final victory from Alp-Williams and Oscar Ferguson.

There was a familiar story in Junior Honda as Celtic champion Kristian Prosser claimed a clean sweep of all four races. Seasonlong rival Patrick Hill provided the closest opposition in three of the four, including the Final, but had no answer to Prosser on this occasion. Ben Cutler took runners-up honours in heat one, but it was Jack Bligh who again came through to complete the podium in the main event. Junior and Mini Max shared the track once again, and it was the usual story out front with Rob Ellis and Ethan Ling claiming top spot in the Final. Neither could claim total dominance, however, with Ellis missing out in heat three – which was won by Tom Croydon from David Spiller – and Ling having to give best to Riley Phillips in each of the qualifying races.

Croydon and Phillips duly claimed runners-up honours in their respective classes, with Spiller and Jem Hempworth filling the top three. Ryan Edwards returned to dominate in Junior TKM, although Tom Rawlings ensured there was no clean sweep by winning the opening race. Edwards didn’t have things his own way thereafter either, with August winner Alex Rees twice running him close, including missing out by less than a second in the Final. Yousuf Ashraf finished third in the main race, with Sam Johns and Rawlings taking top five positions. Senior Honda started in familiar fashion with Danny Griffiths winning the opening heats, but veteran Chris Lipscomb stepped up to prevent another unbeaten weekend for the #45. Having run Griffiths close in race one, the Welsh champion turned the tables to claim heat three by just 0.028s and then ran out a slightly more comfortable winner in the Final, edging Griffiths by 1.67s.

Monty Gorringe harried the points leader to the line in third place, just as he had in the third heat. Dilip Singh followed up last month’s success by winning the opening heat in Senior Rotax but, from that point on, the meeting was all about Sam Morgan and Zach Jones. The pair finished 1-2 in the remaining three races, with Morgan coming out on top by a couple of tenths in the Final, as Singh completed the podium. Michael Bacchetta was the other driver to feature in the top three on the day, chasing Morgan and Jones home in heat three.