COVKARTSPORT National Series 2015, Round 8

After 21 races the COVKARTSPORT series travelled to Milton Keynes to decide the champions of 2015. Mixed conditions, due to overnight rain, did not make it easy for the drivers Sam Lovelace could have been forgiven for taking it easy at Milton Keynes after practically sealing the Junior title at Lakeside but he did the complete opposite. Reigning champion Lovelace pushed hard all day to retain his title in style with the final win
of the season ahead of championship rival and second placed James Saunders. The podium for Saunders was enough to give him second place in the points ahead of Jodi Humphreys, who finished down in sixth at Milton Keynes. Third in the round was the ever improving Ethan Holmes. After joining the series at Ellough, where he finished outside of the top ten, Holmes has impressed with two podiums, including an overall victory at Lakeside in October. He will certainly be a name to watch out
for in 2015.

Oliver Baines returned to the series for the first time since the opening round and the outgoing Junior Plus champion showed he has lost none of his speed with fourth overall in the ever changing conditions. Fih overall went to the new Junior Plus champion Ami Jerger, who takes over the crown from Baines. Jerger has the unwanted record of scoring the most second places in races this year without a win but that will not concern her as she became the second woman to take a major COVKARTSPORT National title after Kayleigh Vincent claimed the same crown in 2012. After Humphreys in sixth came a bale between some of the top drivers from 2014. Daniel Beardmore, Mahew Tetley and Luke O’Sullivan all scored 44 points throughout the day with the lap time deciding the positions in the same order, seventh to ninth, whilst Joe Tuffin rounded out the top ten.

Former champion Paul Cox returned after a year away and showed he had lost known of his speed by claiming a clear victory. Cox, who won the title in 2001 and 2003, dominated the day ahead of championship contender Daniel Truman. Unfortunately for Truman, second place was not enough to overturn the difference to title rival and sixth placed Brandon Williams when it came down to dropped scores and missed out on the title by five points. Former Junior Plus champion Kyle Morby also scored a podium on his return after racing in TKM this season. Fourth went to Mark Bramford, who finished the highest driver in the championship without a race win, ahead of Connor Marsh and newly crowned champion Williams. Seventh placed James Taylor ended a successful year for himself whilst John Stanton fought off the attention of Rikki Gunner for eighth. Gunner has impressed in his debut season and could be a strong title contender in 2015. Richard Dunn’s eleventh place was enough to seal the Lightweight Plus title ahead of Marsh and former champion Gary Jones.

A huge Novice bale had been brewing all season between James Curtis and Aaron Hipkiss and it ended in Curtis’ favour on the day and in the championship with only three points between them after the final race. In the Heavyweight class, Ed White showed his dominance again with a full score and overall victory. White, who has
won eight of the nine races he has competed in this season, dominated the day and finished clear of any championship bale. Championship contenders Wayne Lidgbird and Allan Smith did all they could to catch the points leader Jeff Chapman but even second and third respectively was not enough to deny Chapman a second championship in a row. Former champion David Whitehouse just missed out on a podium after drawing with Smith on the day, but the faster lap time from Smith sealed third. Meanwhile, Jonathan Carty’s fih place was his best result of the season to seal the Heavyweight Plus crown with ease. Sixth placed Neil Humpherston and seventh placed Michael Holdcro must wonder what could have been this season after scoring a large number of wins each but luck deserted them when they needed it. They came home just ahead of the champion Jeff Chapman, who did not let nerves earlier in the
day get in the way of a controlled final race, even when the rain poured down with three corners to go! Tim Ellis and Ben White rounded out the top ten and Slawek Piskorz kept Daniel Beech at arm’s length to take the Novice crown.