TKM Club Champs September

WordPress database error: [Table 'kmuk_db.wp_fblb' doesn't exist]
SELECT * FROM wp_fblb WHERE id = 1

Sept 21st, Hooton Park and Sept 28th, Whilton Mill

TKM’s trend-setting club championships came to a close with everything to race for in all but one category in the final rounds at Whilton Mill in the Midlands and Hooton Park in the North.

The Midlands series had 70 drivers spread evenly across the three classes – with Clubman a new addition for 2014. It brought some excellent racing. The last round at Whilton Mill was run as a double header with everyone doing three heats and a final, and then just the championship drivers doing a second final.

Matthew Taylor played a canny game having come to the final round with a two point advantage over Bradley White and then Sam Fowler. After a 2nd place in the first final he knew he just had to keep it clean in the second final where an easy 6th place was enough to give him the title by three points. Joseph Reeves- Smith was on great form with two wins and overall 5th place in the series. If he had raced in the first event the title could have been his! Meanwhile front-runner Chris Whitton was forced to watch from the pits having broken his wrist at the last round after being collected by another driver. Bradley White and Sam Fowler maintained their usual good performance to take 2nd and 3rd in the championship.

This was run for the first time in the series in 2014 and gave the Clubman guys their first chance to race at a variety of circuits within a championship since they are usually based at Shenington. They did it with great gusto and lots of fun. Jack Macaulay and Daniel Mense were the top contenders, both of them with one poor round to date likely to be dropped. It was Macaulay who managed to be consistently at his peak with two wins just edging out Mense by two points. Max Goldsmith finished third just two points back after a 3rd and 4th on the day.

Very close on points but going into the last final Matthew Allnut seemed to have it all under control after wins in two previous rounds. But it all went wrong at the first corner where his nosecone got knocked off, followed rapidly by the black flag. He dived into the pits and got a new nose on to rejoin at the back with everything to do. Meanwhile up front there was a great scrap between the first group all the while being chased by Josh Waring and Jason Wilson who had started further down. In the end it was the consistency of Michael Hitchcock that won him the title despite missing the first round and never having won a race. Just one point behind was Matthew Allnut, on exactly the same points at Josh Waring but gaining the place on countback. Jamie Tyler and Arran Maile shared the race wins on the day after some ultra close racing with three points between the top four in the championship.

The first year for the Northern TKM Club Championship in a format using four circuits and a total of six events finishing at Hooton Park where it all started. And good to see a number of TKM drivers encouraged out of retirement.

George Sutton had knocked up the perfect score with a win at every round to date and so was able to sit out the day watching everyone else go racing, safe in the knowledge that the title was his. But behind it was very close with three drivers all in with a chance to take home the runners up spot. As it was a first corner first lap coming together saw a shake up of the field. Lee Whittingham got away quickly from the melee thanks to using a clutch and managed to storm through to 3rd in the race, setting a new lap record along the way, but it put him back to 4th in the championship. Tom Evans took the race win and with it moved from 4th to 2nd in the series with Ocean Bach also catching up from that incident to take 3rd place overall.

The top three in the championship were the top three in the race with all at stake. It was a great scrap only finally settled on the last lap with Scott Rixon gaining 2nd place on the track which was enough to give him the title by just one point. Matthew Harris took the race win with a somewhat frustrated Rob Wallace in 3rd for both race and title.