International Round-up

WordPress database error: [Table 'kmuk_db.wp_fblb' doesn't exist]
SELECT * FROM wp_fblb WHERE id = 1

NorrisThe first round of the WSK Supermaster Series was at Sarno at the end of March with practice under warm and dry conditions but much of the racing was in the wet.

Dan Ticktum won KFJ after fighting Leonardo Lorandi on a very wet track with it finally being decided in favour of the British Zanardi driver when Lorandi overshot the track. Enaam Ahmed remained 3rd for the whole race.

Karol Basz was unbeatable in KF where he finished 4s ahead of British driver Callum Ilott who had a good start from the third row. World Champion Tom Joyner had won the Prefinal but dropped to the back after contact early in the race although he recovered to 13th.

There was a big field of KZ2s as their World Championship will be at Sarno in September. Bas Lammers was the winner in only his second race with Formula K, although helped by the wet conditions. Marco Ardigo looked threatening after a string of fastest laps but Lammers also speeded up to stay ahead.

The following weekend was the classic Margutti Trophy at Lonato, the 25th running of the event which commemorates a young Italian driver who was killed in a crash.

Marco Zanchetta dominated the event in KZ2 and finished the final in formation with his Maranello team-mate Lorenzo Camplese just ahead of the Kosmic of Luca Corberi.

British driver Max Fewtrell took his second win of the season in KFJ, also staying ahead at each stage of the event. Ross Martin, in only his second international race, came in 5th but Daniel Ticktum retired in the early stages.

KFJ World Champion Alessio Lorandi took the KF win ahead of Julien Fong from the Irish team Kartronix. There were no British drivers in the class but plenty of entries from British teams like RFM and Forza.

On 13th April it was back to the WSK Super Master Series, this time at Castelletto in Northern Italy. Marco Ardigo controlled the KZ2 final just ahead of Bas Lammers so now takes the lead of the championship from the Dutchman. Paolo De Conto was 3rd after moving up from the fourth row on the grid and the top Brit was Ben Hanley in 5th.

Ricky Flynn Motorsport’s Indian driver Jehan Daruvala was unbeatable in the KF final, winning ahead of French driver Gabriel Aubry. Karol Basz kept his championship lead with 3rd and Lando Norris had a welcome return to form with pole in qualifying although he was 9th in the final.

Venezuelan driver Mauricio Baiz won KFJ after running at the front of the pack all weekend. Mick Junior finished 2nd 2.6s behind and 6th-placed Dan Ticktum was the top Brit.

The final round of the WSK Super Master Series was due to be on 27th April at La Conca in Southern Italy, a chance to prepare for the European Championship in mid-May.