News News News News News News News News

Two tracks upgrade their timing

Multi-sector timing has gone live at Clay Pigeon Kart Club and West of Scotland Kart Club, enabling members to benefit from the same level of information that Super One drivers use.

The move to multiple sector times has been done without the need to replace their existing MyLaps transponders or decoders saving the club and their members tens of thousands of pounds. Alpha Timing recently teamed up with MyLaps to offer a two-for-one deal on additional MyLaps decoders necessary for the providing multiple sector times and the committees at both Clay Pigeon and Larkhall took up the offer immediately.

Rod Taylor, treasurer at West of Scotland Kart Club commented: “Before committing to the Alpha system I thoroughly researched the market for a new timing system. There was great pressure to move in the direction of the system being adopted by a couple of clubs and championships, but the cost is huge. The Alpha system seemed to offer just what we wanted and at a sensible price. I can’t say how pleased my club are that we made this choice. Alpha have been totally supportive during the installation and training period. Our Race Control team took to it extremely quickly and found it easy to use.”

Reports Reports Reports Reports Reports Reports Reports Reports

Scotland and Northern Ireland Race Review

Grampian Kart Club Boyndie Drome Open Challenge, 9th March
Lively racing at Boyndie’s independent meeting, especially from the new Prokart class bringing together new and experienced drivers.

The first round of the Boyndie Drome Open Challenge took place at the Banff circuit on Sunday 9th March. Dry, still conditions greeted the drivers on the day. From pole position, Abbie Munro led the Honda Cadets away followed by Craig Mann, Aidan Welch, Jonathan Edwards and Ben MacLeod. Munro soon opened up a gap and went onto take a comfortable victory. Early casualty was Edwards who retired because of a faulty engine mount on lap five. Mann and Welch remained in close contention throughout the race and Mann won the sprint to the chequered flag. Ben McLeod came home 4th ahead of Logan Mann, Ben Burnett and Callum Meldrum. After two false starts in Junior Rotax the front row was put to the back of the grid.

This left Cameron McPhee on pole and Reece Gillan in second spot. The third attempt was go and by start of the second lap at gate corner Shaun Davidson took the lead. He soon opened a large gap before taking the victory. McPhee was holding off Robbie Souter for the first seven laps and at Seafield Complex, Souter made a move to the inside and touched McPhee causing a half spin. Souter took 2nd and took the position at the chequered flag. McPhee caught the spin and came home 3rd. Gillan finished 4th with Conner Matthew, 5th.

The new blue livered Prokarts were only in their second outing. Adrian Brodie convincingly won the B final. The A final was to be a closely contested race throughout. On the first lap there were three leaders and as they crossed the line for the first time it was Jack Gordon from Ryan Cannon and Mark Wyness with the order completely changed on lap 2. As the race settled down the front five drew away from the pack. Daniel Borton was leading on lap 4 but by lap 6 Wyness was back in front. Cannon took the lead on the following lap and was to hold the position to the chequered flag for victory. Mark Wyness came home a close 2nd from Borton, Jack Gordon and Michael Ogilvie. The Senior Rotax final got under way and within two laps a light shower of rain made things greasy.

The poleman, Tony Strachan, led away closely followed by Connor Wilson, Grant Cheesewright, Ross Shearer, Lewis Rae and Liam Souter. Ross Shearer gained 3rd place at the half way point. Strachan took the victory with Wilson 2nd, and Shearer and Cheesewright were next up. Neil Anderson took the early lead from Derek Kinghorn and Ian Duncan in KZ then Duncan moved to 2nd on lap 2. Anderson spun in the Seafield Complex, dropping him down the order. Duncan took the lead and the victory. Leon Beda closed on Derek Kinghorn but the later held the position to take 2nd with Beda 3rd. Anderson recovered to 4th ahead of John Robertson.


Reports Reports Reports Reports Reports Reports Reports Reports

Scotland & Northern Ireland Race Review

Winter warmers from Larkhall and Nutts Corner

Cadets take centre stage with dramatic twists for unlucky front runners, while the Rotax classes were as competitive as ever.

West of Scotland Kart Club Championship Round 1

Larkhall, 16th February

In the combined Honda and IAME Cadet field, there was a huge disappointment for Matthew Collings (Honda) who had taken the lead three laps in then dropped out in the closing stages in a clash with Cameron Thompson (Honda) leaving the win to Angus Moulsdale (IAME).

Lucas Blakeley won the quiet Minimax race from lights to flag while Cameron Evans took 2nd at the start ahead of Gordon Mutch.

Robbie Fowler was another to win lights to flag in Junior Rotax, but the driver of the race had to be Cameron McLaughlan who came through from 11th to 2nd, finally passing Jack Gordon on the last lap.

Scott Keenan finished 2.3s ahead of Cameron Low in Senior Blue, with Low followed closely by Ross Adamson.

A rare TKM 4 Stroke race saw George Wilson take the lead at the start and pull away from the field by 2.5s ahead of Paul Etheridge and Stuart McDougall.

The biggest race of the day was Senior Rotax but Tommy Leckie was unfazed and defeated the rapid-starting Jordan Irvine by just over a second.

NIKA Winter Series

At the beginning of February, the final round of the Northern Ireland Karting Association Winter Series took place on what was a damp and cold day at Nutts Corner with all four classes crowing new champions a month before the regular season starts.

In the highly competitive Cadet class it was Tom Edgar who took home the title after claiming a win and two 2nd place finishes at the County Antrim circuit. Nathan Glenn claimed a 2nd and two 3rd place finishes to end the Championship in 2nd position, with Philip Patton taking 3rd in the Championship after an impressive day where he claimed two wins and only for an off in the third race would have been well in contention for a hat trick of wins.

In the Rotax Minimax class Daniel Harper continued his great run of form in the Championship claiming another two wins and a 2nd on his way to clinching the title. Jack McGaughey finished the campaign in 2nd position claiming a win and two 3rd places at the final round, with Sam McDonnell taking home 3rd position after a solid hat trick of 2nd place finishes.

In the ever competitive Senior Rotax class it was Jack McConnell who came out on top after adding another win to his tally in the series as well and a 2nd place in Race 2 to clinch the Championship. It was Douglas Reid who sealed 2nd in the Championship after a hat trick of 3rd place finishes on the final day of the series ahead of David Irvine in 3rd who finished just 27 points behind.

Peter Caldwell finished top of the pile in the World Formula class with yet another great performance clinching two wins and a second on his way to the title after what was a dominating display in the Championship. It was Peter Crossen who finished the series in 2nd place after a solid day at the office, finishing on every step of the podium on what was an impressive display. Taking home 3rd position was Rory McPolin, finishing just nine points behind Crossen in what was a very exciting end to a very entertaining series.

With the Winter Championship now over attentions turns to Kirkistown and the first round of the 2014 NIKA Championship. The entry list has grown from those who took part in the winter series and if the standard of racing continues on into the 2014 campaign we can be sure of some very close racing throughout the field.

For more information visit the NIKA website at