Northern Race Review – Round 1

WordPress database error: [Table 'kmuk_db.wp_fblb' doesn't exist]
SELECT * FROM wp_fblb WHERE id = 1

Round ups and news from the North of England’s club scene

The season started in earnest across the north as some of the country’s finest tracks were spared the freak winter weather.

Cumbria Kart Racing Club Championship Round 1

Rowrah, 9th February

Lewis Thompson pulled away from the field in the IAME Cadet final, finishing 3.8s ahead of Owen Hardy, then Harry Riches 3rd who had dropped back from pole. Riley Banks also pulled away from James Walker in the Honda Cadet race.

Cameron Fisher led the Junior TKMs home after 2nd-placed Jak Watson dropped out after two laps. Cameron Sharpe was 2nd after inheriting the place from Watson.

Thomas Turner led most of the Minimax final but Samuel Gerrard overtook two laps from the end although Turner stayed on his bumper. Stuart Middleton took home the Junior Rotax trophy after passing Will Shaw early on.

Cameron Brown had a massive lead over Katie Brown in Senior Rotax after early leader Abbie Carruthers retired. Brendan Speight finished top out of the two TKM Extremes in the race.

Cheshire Kart Club Championship Round 1

Hooton Park, 16th February

At Hooton Park’s first meeting of the year a small but perfectly formed grid of Honda and Comer Cadets scrapped over the final win with Samuel Cunliffe taking it, but Harley Haughton also had a spell in the lead.

Joe Willoughby dropped back at the start of IAME Cadet but came back through to win at the front of a breakaway that also included Myles Barthorpe and poleman Tom Westworth.

Not much movement in Junior TKM and Minimax where Thomas

Evans simply pulled away from Lee Whittingham and Amy Duke after winning two of his heats. Top Minimax was Tom Waddington in 4th.

James Gee Coates won Junior Rotax and Junior Blue but was just 0.16s ahead of James Parish who had overtaken Lewis Brown at the start. Josh Graham overcame Richard Morris to win Junior Blue.

Aaron Lord (Senior Rotax) won the combined Senior Rotax/ Rotax Masters/125 Libre class just half a second ahead of 125 Libre Luke McCaffrey. Anthony Dickinson won Masters, not much off the pace of the lighter drivers.

Joseph Cooper led all the way in TKM Extreme as he had done all day but Brendan Speight came through from 6th to 2nd.

Tyne & Wear Kart Club Championship Round 1

Karting North East at Warden Law, 2nd February

The new Pro Extreme class visited Warden Law and there was a win for Mark Brown in the final after Ben Fallon was the most successful in the heats. James Dennis wasn’t headed all day in the smaller conventional Prokart field.

Joe Lane also dominated all day in Senior Rotax, and Dave Todd was the only 177. James Baker won all the Junior Rotax heats but the final winner was CJ Smith. Rhys Hunter headed the three Minimaxes.

Ethan Hammerton came back from a heat DNF to win the Junior TKM final.

Daniel Spicer won the combined Cadet class from Kai Hunter who had taken two heat wins and a DNF with Alicia Goundry 3rd.

Manchester & Buxton Kart Club Championship Round 1

Three Sisters, 26th January

Max Bladon win the Senior Rotax final off pole with Matthew Lewis moving up four places to 2nd, and Richard Newman was 3rd after a long spell in 2nd.

Jamie Sharp took Tom Geaney at the start in Minimax to lead all the way home but not by much as Geaney was faster. There wasn’t much to choose between Jake Anderson, Jack Harwood and Daniel Youd in Junior Rotax after they dispatched fastest lapper Lewis Brown in mid race but Anderson won by 0.05s.

Joe Willoughby, Tom Westworth and Myles Barthorpe battled for the IAME Cadet lead at the end of the final with Willoughby taking the win after losing control of the race briefly. Matthew Watters was the Honda Cadet winner and was never challenged while Harley Haughton saw off Samuel Cunliffe for 2nd.

In KZ2 Dan Kelly passed Jonny Buchanan early in the race and went on to win by neatly 11s with Buchanan remaining 2nd.

South Yorkshire Kart Club Wombwell, 16th February

The heat results at Wombwell were Scott Collinge 1 – James Lingard 2 in Senior Rotax at Lingard went on to win the final 4.2s ahead of Steven Burdass with Collinge 3rd.

Brendan Pattison won two Junior Rotax heats and then the final with the other heat winner Thomas Wood coming in 2nd with a big gap to Chris Haigh in 3rd. Adam Batty was at the front of Minimax all day, winning the final by 0.8s from Mason Walker.

Lots of Bambino graduates in the IAME class and James Taylor took two heat wins to Joe Beecroft’s one. Beecroft was fastest as the day went on though and took the final win ahead of Taylor with reigning club champion Joshua Rattican 3rd.

Peter Sharrocks and Jack France shared the X30 wins, but problems in heat 3 ended France’s day so Sharrocks had a relatively easy time, and beat Tom Limer by 4.2s, 0.2s a lap faster.